RSS Feed

A Girl Likes to be Crossed in Love a Little Now and Then…

Day Two: Your First Love

I feel like “first love” can be taken in many different directions, so I will cover all of them, since I technically have not experienced my first “love” yet. I have however, had a few crushes. My first real, long-term, I-am-going-to-marry-this-boy-one-day-even-if-we’ve-never-actually-spoken crush began in seventh grade. He was new to the school, I was smitten. This crush only intensified over the years, and I continued to pine after said boy all the way through my senior year of high school, even though this boy wanted nothing to do with me. It also didn’t help that I was afraid to talk to the opposite sex during this time, so almost no interaction occurred between us. I spent a good portion of my summer before leaving for college getting over him, which, thankfully, I did.

My first non-human love has always been making up stories. One of my earliest memories is making up stories with my dad about Geoffrey Giraffe and all of his friends at the zoo. I remember writing a storyΒ in kindergarten about a princess named Andrea who is saved by a prince,and they immediately get married and have a baby. I read it aloud to my class. They all giggled when the princess and prince kissed. I thought they were immature for overlooking the fact that it was true love (As you can see, my hopeless romantic tendencies began at a young age). As I grew up, my stories would become more involved, though they usually centered around the same thing: Girl likes boy. Boy doesn’t like girl. Girl and boy eventually fall in love and live happily ever after. Even now, when I sit down to write story, however long it may be, it usually ends in a kiss. Or a wedding. Usually both.

If I am to talk about first loves though, I will have to touch on my first celebrity crush. I was seven, and Hanson was just about the best thing ever. For my birthday, my aunt bought me their CD. It was the first CD I ever owned, and I played it until it scratched. MMMBop was put on repeat. I could sing every word of not only that song, but all the other ones on the album as well. When they released their Christmas album, I made my dad record it on a cassette tape so we could listen to it in the car (On a side note, sorry, Mom and Dad, for putting you through that…). I really believed that I was going to marry Zac, the youngest member of Hanson, and we would live happily ever after in Oklahoma where they lived. He was only five years older than I was, that wasn’t too much of an age difference (even though looking back, 8 and 13 are so different. 20 and 25 seem like a huge difference to me still. Besides, he’s happily married now.)

I have now since lost (or sold, I can’t remember) my Hanson CDs, and part of me regrets it. My stomach still gets butterflies whenever I hear MMMBop on the radio or tv, not because I’m still secretly wishing I could marry Zac, but because of all the memories that come back to me from hearing it. It was simpler back then. No worrying about finals or my future or if I would ever find someone to love. I was just blissfully happy dreaming about Giraffes, Princes and Zac Hanson. And that, I think, is something I should like to regain.

About blweathers

I want to write. About what, I'm not sure. We'll figure that out together.

2 responses »

  1. I cannot wait to see where this blogging adventure takes you Bethany! Sweet…

    Nice post. I’m happily in the throes of first love; but I never had any inhibitions about talking to guys of the other sex. πŸ˜‰

    First real crush was like…2 years ago this time. *sigh* lasted over a year. I thought it might go somewhere…he knew I had a crush on him, wasn’t against it… But, alas, he wouldn’t commit and so I spent a year an a half waiting for him. Praying I’d get him someday and never getting pushed away but never pulled in…

    Then Cory came along, and with a lot of fears in my heart I let go of Matt…and yes. πŸ™‚ ❀ My maybe-mr-right was never as perfect for me as my mr-right is. πŸ™‚

    First celebrity crush? o.O Wow… I don't know if I even remember… Probably Bob Nolan. Never mind that he was a singer from the 30s and 40s… He was tall, dark, handsome. Nice. Had a charisma. πŸ˜‰ First serious celeb crush was deff Tom Cruise, and that has pretty much stayed ever since. lol. πŸ˜€

    Reply
  2. I love your romantic side!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

