RSS Feed

Friendship is certainly the finest balm for the pangs of disappointed love.

Day Five: Your definition of love

Ahh, love. I must admit, I smiled to myself when I read today’s topic. When it comes to talking about love, I’m usually all for it. It is widely known that I am an utterly hopeless romantic. But now that I actually have to define it, I’m realizing this is going to be harder than I thought. There are plenty of things that people can do or say to show their love for one another, but a set in stone definition? I’m not sure there really is one.

When I typed in “love quotes” into google, there were millions of hits. Barnes and Noble has an entire section devoted to romance. About 85% of my songs on iTunes relate to love or relationships. The same goes for the movies I own. Everyone seems to have an idea of what love is, or at least should be. I know what I dream it could be like for me–whether it will come true for me, time will only tell.

I think the main thing about love is selflessness. Putting someone before yourself without expecting anything in return is the purest form of love in my opinion. I wish I could give a better answer, but I can’t. Hopefully one day I’ll be able to tell you something different, but until then, this is the best I can do. If you guys have any ideas on what love is, I’d love to hear them!

P.S. Thanks to everyone who has been reading my blog, I’ve really appreciated it! You guys are great!

About blweathers

I want to write. About what, I'm not sure. We'll figure that out together.

2 responses »

  1. I would define love as caring more about someone else more than yourself; to the point where what you think on a matter doesn’t even matter. It’s being utterly consumed by someone else; made one with them. When you cannot imagine a day without them; that’s love. When you can’t imagine fighting with them over something trivial; then that’s love. When you think about them every moment of every day and the smallest thought of them can bring huge joy; I would describe that as love.

    I think love is the purest example of sacrifice and selflessness. A complete giving of yourself.

    Reply
  2. Love is VERY hard to define!! I don’t have a scientific definition for it. I do know it is not just a word!!! People use the word so loosely!
    I like what you said about putting someone else before yourself without expecting anything in return!!
    I believe you are that kind of person!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

