RSS Feed

Clothes make the man. Naked people have little or no influence on society.

Day Ten: What I wore today

I would say I wanted to dress up a little today, but I tend to dress up everyday. I always want to look nice, should I run into someone of importance. I want to make a good impression, and while appearances shouldn’t be everything, it often does make or break an opinion about someone. So I try to look presentable at all times.

It’s taken a long time for me to find my “look,” because for the longest time I didn’t know how to dress my body type. Being a 5 foot 11, plus sized young woman makes it difficult to find clothes that will fit nicely and look my age. Most plus sized clothing lines are geared towards the 30-55 age range, not the 18-29 year olds. Being a tall girl never helps either. Pants and sleeves are too short, especially after they go through the wash, so I usually can’t wear them more than once before they don’t fit anymore.

I have been able to find a few cute things though. For example, I am wearing my Source of Wisdom Virtual Stretch dark wash jeans, a midnight blue cotton tank with a flower embellishment from Old Navy, and a cream-colored short-sleeved (yes, it’s winter, but again, most long sleeves aren’t long enough) sweater jacket from Torrid. Hair is pulled into a side ponytail, and black ballet flats from Kohl’s cover my feet. In general, a relatively casual look for me.

On a completely unrelated note, my title is a quote from Mark Twain. My mom made me realize I should be citing my sources. And to think I’m an English major…

About blweathers

I want to write. About what, I'm not sure. We'll figure that out together.

Leave a Reply

