RSS Feed

You think dogs will not be in heaven? I tell you, they will be there long before any of us.

Quote from Robert Louis Stevenson

Day Eleven: My siblings

Being an only child, I feel this would be a rather short entry should I write about my siblings. Instead, I am going to write about the closest thing: my dog.

I have an almost nine-year old chocolate lab named Frango (after the Marshall Field’s chocolate mints– It’s a Chicago thing.), who is the best dog in the world. He may be considered a senior citizen by some standards, but he still acts like a puppy in just about every way possible. Seriously. I’m beginning to think he may be handy-capable. You would think that after nine years, he would be able to do simple commands, but no. I’m going to give him the benefit of the doubt and say he could mind, he just has selective intelligence.

He may be incredibly hyper and dumb sometimes (he chases his tail and then bites it, and then looks at us as if asking why it’s hurting…), but in other cases he is wise beyond his years. They say dogs have a sixth sense about things, and I think Frango has it. He can be running around the house like a crazed kid without Ritalin, but as soon as he sees me upset, he’s calm. Where normally trying to pet him ends in a slimy rubber chicken being thrown in my face, he just sits next to me, lays his head in my lap and lets me pet and cry on him. I don’t even have to say anything. Most times I’m not even crying. He just knows.

Being away at college makes me miss him like crazy. That why when I’m home, I try to play with him as much as I can. I try not to get too angry with him for not minding, because I don’t want him to think of that when I leave again. And that’s the other thing. He always knows when I’m about to leave. It breaks my heart, because he won’t leave my side. When I’m packing everything up, he stands in the doorway, head down, tail between his legs. It kills me to leave him, but I know I have to.

Frango was the first dog I’ve ever been able to call my own. I got him when I was eleven, and he’s been with me ever since. I don’t know what I’d do without him. To me, he is so much better than any sibling could ever be.

About blweathers

I want to write. About what, I'm not sure. We'll figure that out together.

Leave a Reply

