RSS Feed

There are three hundred and sixty-four days when you might get un-birthday presents … and only one for birthday presents, you know.

Quote by Lewis Carroll

Day Eighteen: Favorite Birthday

I love Birthdays. Not just my own, but rather anyone’s birthday. It’s a day to celebrate a person’s existence, and there is nothing more special than that. I was instilled in me at a young age by my mom that birthdays are meant to be celebrated. Since I was a “miracle child,” my mom would always go all out for birthdays, creating elaborate parties, activities, and always had the best cakes, goodie bags, entertainment. I looked forward to my birthday every year, which is why it is so hard to choose just one as the best. I declare a three-way tie between my 16th, 18th, and 20th birthdays. Why you may ask? I’ll tell you.

16th: It was my sweet sixteen. I knew from a young age that this was going to be a good year. As the date approached, my mom and I began discussing what I might want to do. I ended up inviting six of my closest friends to a Sweet sixteen bash, which began with all of us dressing to the nines and had a stretch limo pick us up and take us to Navy Pier, where we boarded a dinner cruise, ate, and dances the evening away. A limo picked us up after and brought us back home where we had cake and ice cream, opened presents, and hung out into the wee hours of the morning. People were stopping us on the Pier asking why we were all dressed up (I was wearing a Prom dress. It was black with purple accents, I put my hair in a bun and wore a tiara. I was totally a princess for the day), and when I explained, people actually thought we were filming for MTV’s My Super Sweet Sixteen. Being a slightly self-centered sixteen year old, I let them believe it.

18th: The best part of my birthday wasn’t really the party, although it was fun going cosmic putt-putting and eating at Macaroni Grill with my two best friends at the time, but rather what I did the day of my birthday. As many of you know I adore Jane Austen, and my senior year of high school I had the opportunity to go to the Jane Austen Society of North America’s annual conference, which was held in Chicago that year. They had invited a few school groups to attend different workshops and hear lectures from Austen Scholars. And it happened to fall on my birthday. I spent the day absorbed in my favorite alternate world (I swear I was born in the wrong era…), learning more than I ever dreamed I would. After lunch, we all took part in a writing contest. The topic was Jane Austen’s legacy. Being the creative writer that I am, instead of writing a boring essay, I decided to write a letter as Austen to her readers today. I gave advice on choosing a suitable husband and friends, learning how to stand up for yourself no matter your rank or gender, and most importantly being true to yourself. By the time I had finished writing the letter, I had completely forgotten it was for a contest, I just had fun writing it. My creative idea paid off; I was one of the contest winners. For winning, I was able to return to the conference the following Sunday with my mom to hear more talks and have brunch. I also got to hear from the Producers of the Pride and Prejudice Musical (This is not a joke. Check it out: http://www.prideandprejudicebroadway.com/ ), as well as the actor playing Mr. Darcy, who was very attractive (but then again, how can Mr. Darcy NOT be attractive? That’s like having a dog try to become a cat. It just can’t happen). The night ended with my friends and I going to the Homecoming game, with fireworks after the game. It was a perfect way to ring in “adulthood.”

20th: My most recent birthday was super low-key, but I loved it. The previous year was the first time I wasn’t home for my birthday, which was disappointing in all respects. I was determined to make this year great, and it was. My friends and I went to a corn maze to begin with. We  got lost multiple times, had a dance party in the middle of the corn field, blew bubbles with little kids, and enjoyed a beautiful crisp, fall day. We headed back to my dorm for cookie cake (which was gone by the next day. There were only five of us who ate it. Well,  my best friend and I ended up eating what was left after the party. Ok, fine,  I ate most of it after everyone left. It was my birthday. I can eat all the cookie cake I want!) After the cookie cake we went out to dinner, which was a bit of backwards thinking, but oh well. We went to one of the local pub type places in town and ate and hung out for quite a while. It was low-key, and it made me feel like an adult. Plus, the company was pretty great too.

I can’t wait for my birthday next year (Or shall I say this year? It is 2011.). It’s not because I’m turning 21, but because I can’t wait to see what we will all do. And yes, I will be having a party. I plan on throwing myself a birthday party until the day I die. After all, there’s only one of me, so let’s celebrate that. 🙂

About blweathers

I want to write. About what, I'm not sure. We'll figure that out together.

2 responses »

  1. I also look forward to your next birthday!!

    Reply
  2. Personally, my top three favorite birthdays of yours would be:
    1) Your first, of course. Not when you turned one, but your actual “birth” day. Absolutely the best day EVER!!!
    2) Your special golden birthday when you turned 3 on October 3, 1993 (that’s three 3s in case you weren’t counting). We sent out message balloons and even got several responses from all over the Northern part of the state!
    3) The Hanson birthday party celebration (I know, you are cringeing with embarrassment). I had hired a dance instructor to come and teach a complete dance routine to “MMM Bop” by Hanson (remember your crush on Zach?) and then all of the girls performed for the parents when they returned to pick them up. It was so fun…even for the parents!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

