RSS Feed

We should regret our mistakes and learn from them, but never carry them forward into the future with us.

Quote by Lucy Maud Montgomery

Day Nineteen: Something I Regret

I feel like there are a lot of little things I regret in life: saying something mean to someone who didn’t deserve it, not doing something for fear of ridicule or just fear itself, the list can go on for a while. Everyday there are things I regret doing or not doing, saying or not saying. It’s a part of life. There are going to be times when we wish we could have changed the past.

As for big regrets, I can’t really think of anything. I’m sure during that time I felt it was a big regret, but looking back, nothing stands out as an “if only I had…” moment. Sure, there are things I wish had gone differently, but without them happening, I wouldn’t be where I am today. And I feel like I’m in a pretty good place right now. It’s not like everything is perfect, because it’s far from being so, but I am content.

I guess though if there is one thing I would say I regret (if I have to put something down, since my answer thus far has been a bit of a cop-out), I would say I regret going to prom. Apart from wearing a big blue pouffy dress and my hair in a lovely up-do, I hated it. I wouldn’t have been heartbroken if I hadn’t gone. But I think there is too much pressure put on prom; girls make it to be the biggest night of their lives, and it’s not. At the time though, it seemed like the world was coming to an end. I guess what I regret most is that I had such high expectations for the prom and it fell short. Oh well. I know plenty of others who had a wonderful time at their proms, so don’t take my word for it.

The most important thing though with regrets is to remember that in a few years, the regret will probably just turn into a funny story to tell at parties. It won’t be a big deal. It’s just the past.

About blweathers

I want to write. About what, I'm not sure. We'll figure that out together.

One response »

  1. How did you ever get so wise in so few years?!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

