RSS Feed

“It’s snowing still,” said Eeyore gloomily. “So it is.” “And freezing.” “Is it?” “Yes,” said Eeyore. “However,” he said, brightening up a little, “we haven’t had an earthquake lately.”

Quote by A.A. Milne

Day Twenty Two: Something that Upsets Me

There are a lot of things that upset me, most of them trivial things. I have a dramatic flair, so often times I will freak out over something that really is not that big of a deal. I calm down soon though, and go on with the rest of my day (I almost wrote , “the rest of me day.” I guess my subconscious wants me to turn into a pirate. Awesome). These little melt downs are usually the result of forgetting to do a homework assignment, missing an event I really wanted to go to, sleeping too late and being late for class, etc. Things that in general, will not affect the rest of my life.

What upsets me most (and rightly should), is seeing someone hurting and not being able to help them. I am by nature a peacemaker, a nurturer. I like taking care of people, sometimes to an annoying extent. I’ve always been “the mom” in my circle of friends; I have the “mom bag” (i.e. a big tote bag type purse) filled with snacks, activities, first aid and anything else we might need while we are out should we need anything. So when I see someone I care for upset about something, and I can’t do anything to stop them from being upset, I get upset. I feel helpless. And I know I can’t do everything, and there are times when I shouldn’t, but my nurturing instincts kick in and I want to help. I take their burden on me in hopes to share part of it. Often times though I can’t, and I hate it.

As a side note, I know it annoys my friends sometimes when I “mother” them, and I’m sorry. I try not to, but sometimes it just comes out. I’m not trying to belittle or demean you. I’m doing it out of love. I’m neurotic, but that’s what makes me endearing. 😉

About blweathers

I want to write. About what, I'm not sure. We'll figure that out together.

Leave a Reply

