RSS Feed

I will not play at tug o’ war I’d rather play at hug o’ war, Where everyone hugs Instead of tugs….

Quote by Shel Silverstein

Day Twenty Three: Something that makes me feel better

I have many little ways that I make myself feel better, ranging from eating something sweet (usually some form of chocolate or ice cream, because really, when have you ever felt worse after eating those? Unless of course you eat too much of them, and then have a stomach ache. I could understand feeling worse then), to coloring, to driving, to hanging out with friends, to writing.

But if I’m having a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day, there is nothing better than receiving a hug from someone. And not just one of those awkward Christian side hugs (because those are lame and no one really likes giving or getting one of those), but I mean arms wrapped all the way around and squeeze. The best way I’ve heard one of these kinds of hugs explained is from one of my favorite tv shows, Pushing Daisies. In one episode, the girl named Chuck says, “Hugs are like Emotional Heimlichs. Someone puts their arms around you and they give you a squeeze and all your fear and anxiety come shooting out of your mouth and you can breathe again.” That reassurance given by two arms makes up for all the uncertainty I felt the whole day.

It doesn’t even have to be given by someone I’m super close to. Some of the best hugs are the unexpected ones that come from unexpected people. For those few seconds, I know someone cares about me. And there’s nothing that makes me feel better than knowing I’m loved.

About blweathers

I want to write. About what, I'm not sure. We'll figure that out together.

Leave a Reply

