RSS Feed

It opens the lungs, washes the countenance, exercises the eyes, and softens down the temper; so cry away.

Quote by: Charles Dickens

Day Twenty Four: What makes me cry

Oh Lordy, could this post get long. I cry at just about anything. Good things, bad things, things in between good things and bad things. I usually cry at least once a week because of something, be it good or bad. There are some things that absolutely put me over the edge and send me straight into weeping.

Any book or movie where the dog dies. I have only been able to make it through Marley and Me once, and the entire ride home from the theater I sobbed. Bodily fluids were escaping from every opening of my face. It was not a pretty sight. I have watched it since then, but I turn it off after he becomes an adult dog and pretend he lived forever.

Any book or movie where the protagonist’s love dies. I am a sucker for a good romantic movie or book, so it is heartbreaking when I fall in love with the main character’s love, and then he or she is taken away from us in such a sad manner. Finding Neverland gets me every time, as does Atonement, and The Notebook. If I need a good cry, those are good ones to turn to.

Any book or movie where the protagonist finally gets to be with their true love. On the flip side, I cry with happy endings too. Any Jane Austen movie adaptation has made me cry at least once (especially Mansfield Park and Persuasion. I don’t know why those two are the most touching to me), and A Very Long Engagement turns on the water works.

Any book or movie when a main character is hurt and may not make it, but pulls through in the end. I can watch the movie a hundred times and I will still cry at that part. I still cry during The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe when the White Witch stabs Edmund, and Peter sees from across the field. When he runs to his brother, knocking down everything that stands in his way to save him, I cry. Even now, after I have seen that movie almost 300 times (not an exaggeration. I adore that movie), I still get emotional. Brotherly bonds are the best.

Someone hurts my feelings. This one should be a little obvious. I try my best not to cry in front of the person who has hurt me, but once I’m alone (or with people I trust to cry in front of, which is very few), I lose it. I weep. ¬†Uncontrollably.

Someone does something amazing for me. Whether it’s getting me an unexpected present, doing something for me for no particular reason, or just makes me feel special in some way, my eyes well up and I have to fight back the tears.

Something good happens to someone else. I almost always cry when I hear about an engagement, job promotion, or any other miracle in someone’s life. I love to be able to celebrate with them.

Something bad happens to someone else. As previously stated in one of my posts, nothing upsets me more than not being able to help someone who is hurting. When I can’t do anything for that person, I cry. It’s the only thing I can do.

So yeah, I cry a lot. Call me a weeper if you like. I know I’m overly emotional. But I’d rather be overly emotional than have a hard heart and not feel anything.

About blweathers

I want to write. About what, I'm not sure. We'll figure that out together.

One response »

  1. You most certainly do not have a hard heart. In fact, I believe you have an extra large heart, much like the Grinch at the end of the story where it bursts through the measuring device. This extra large heart holds even more feeling and emotions than just a regular one does. The nicest thing about your extra large heart is the amount of love that it holds. You are capable of so much love and devotion that it amazes me. And, because of the love in your heart, you possess the capacity to forgive like no one I have ever met. I am in awe of you! The man who ultimately wins your extra large heart will truly be blessed!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

