RSS Feed

I traveled among unknown men, In lands beyond the sea: Nor England! Did I know till then What love I bore to thee.

Quote by: William Wordsworth

I skipped yesterday. I am a despicable human being. (Bonus point to those who can name where that quote is from!)

Day 27: My Favorite Place

My all time favorite place in all the world is England. It always has been. When I was younger, that was the place I dreamed of. After all, Princess Diana lived there, which to my little five-year old self, must have meant all princesses lived there. And since I was (am) most definitely a princess, I should be living there too. Every princess story seemed to take place In England. I would see movies and there would be large castles set in the country, with glorious backdrops of lush green fields surrounding it, and I knew that was where I was supposed to live.

As I grew older, and I realized there was more to England than just princesses and castles, I fell in love with the actual country rather than the fantasized one. Reading about the quaint villages of the Cotswolds, with some houses still standing 500 years after they were originally built, little shops and afternoon teas– it seemed like magic. Even learning about London evoked these feelings. The mixing of old and modern buildings and culture was something I as an American can’t fully understand. The oldest buildings we have are only about 250 years old, and most of them are museums, not still running shops.

Most of the novels I read are from British authors. I’m not sure if this is purely coincidental or not, but most of them hail from England, if not Great Britain. Jane Austen, the Bronte Sisters, C.S. Lewis, J.K Rowling, the list goes on. My favorite actors and actresses hail from the tiny island across the pond. Emma Thompson and Colin Firth are two of the most amazing actors of our time (not to mention I will marry Colin Firth one day. Yes, I know he’s happily married. And yes, I know he’s old enough to be my father. But he could be happy with me too!

Speaking of incredibly handsome Englishmen, there is nothing more attractive than an English accent. Ah, I melt. I don’t know what it is about it, but I love English accents. Maybe my subconscious is translating an english accent with Mr. Darcy or something, I don’t know, but seriously, if I find a guy and he has the accent, his attractiveness goes way up. That makes me sound shallow, doesn’t it? It’s true though, and I’m sure most of you think so as well, don’t deny it.

At seventeen I was finally able to go there, and it fulfilled all my expectations, surpassed them even. All the books I had read, all the movies I had seen, all the travel guides I studied couldn’t compare to actually being there. I felt like it was the place I was supposed to be. I was only there for a week, but that week solidified the fact that one day I would have to return. I haven’t been able to yet, but I will. I have to. It’s where I’m meant to be.

As much as I love England, my favorite place at the moment is my bed. I have been working so much all I want to do is fall into it and not get back up again until the next morning. Even now, I just woke up from a three and a half hour nap, and I am still exhausted. But I wanted to write this post, especially since I didn’t write anything yesterday.

About blweathers

I want to write. About what, I'm not sure. We'll figure that out together.

Leave a Reply

