RSS Feed

I want to write books that unlock the traffic jam in everybody’s head.

Quote by John Updike

Day Twenty Nine: My aspirations

I have already talked about my dreams (read them here: https://blweathers.wordpress.com/2010/12/30/they-who-dream-by-day-are-cognizant-of-many-things-which-escape-those-who-dream-only-by-night/), which are mostly outlandish and might not happen, though it would be wonderful if they did. Aspirations (to me) are more realistic dreams, something that can be achieved if one puts his mind to it. There is some overlapping with my dreams and aspirations, since I didn’t know I would be later writing on it again.

My number one aspiration is to be a published writer. I want to walk into a Borders or Barnes and Noble and see a table with my books sitting on it, a sign above it reading “New Arrival from New York Times Best Selling Author Bethany Weathers.” I want to have a head shot on the back of the books with a bio on the back flap of all the hardcovers, telling all about how I have written countless novels and live with my husband and children in New York or London or some other big city.

I want my writing to inspire people. I hope one day a girl will come up to me and say because of my books, she wants to be a writer now too. I’m not going to lie, I doubt my writing will change the face of literature. My name will not be up there with the great writers of our time. It will not be read as assignments in schools. Most likely my novels will be mindless entertainment. Most of them will probably be a love story of some sort. They will probably be predictable. My main audience will be women in the 16-35 range. But I’m alright with that. I don’t need a Pulitzer (although that would be wonderful), I just want people to enjoy my writing. I want them to love it as much as I loved writing it.

Writing is my greatest passion. With it I can say what I wish I could say out loud. I can be confident, and I can be me. No hiding. To be able to share myself with the world, words can’t describe how that would feel (ironic, isn’t it?).

About blweathers

I want to write. About what, I'm not sure. We'll figure that out together.

One response »

  1. See…you are already inspirational!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

