RSS Feed

I travel not to go anywhere, but to go. I travel for travel’s sake. The great affair is to move.

Quote by Robert Louis Stevenson

I’m just going to come out and say it: I so desperately want to go backpacking through Great Britain and Ireland. The thought of traveling through the one place I love the most, nothing but a backpack full of the bare essentials, no idea where I may go or what I may see, excites me to no end and the crap out of me at the same time.

I know I’m shy (I’m sure my mother would disagree, but let’s face it, Mom, in new situations, I am), which is why the idea of me being in a foreign country fending for myself makes me want to hide under the covers and stay in Columbia. I would have to talk to people. It will be out of my comfort zone (excuse the cliché). I would have to be responsible (which I am for the most part, but I have never truly been on my own).  I know my mom would be worried sick about me the entire time, thinking horrible things that could happen to me, and I can understand why she would be worried. There have been horror stories.

But I feel like this is something I have to do. A right of passage, if you will. I need to prove to myself that I can do it. I have to push myself to be open, and responsible, and smart. All the while exploring countries and experiencing cultures (on a budget of course. Hostels here I come!) and learning more about myself in a week that would have taken a lifetime to learn if I stay home. Backpacking is something I have dreamed about doing ever since I learned what it was. Yes, it is scary, but to think about everything I could see and taste and experience… it’s a chance of a lifetime. How can I pass it up?

P.S. Sorry for cliché central, but this was a quick procrastination post to keep me from doing math homework.

P.P.S. I would also like to announce the creation of the Bethany Weathers Backpacking Fund (trademark pending). If anyone would like to contribute to me achieving my dreams, please contact me! 😛

About blweathers

I want to write. About what, I'm not sure. We'll figure that out together.

One response »

  1. You have my support!
    (Ha! Surprised you, didn’t I?)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

