RSS Feed

A film is never really good unless the camera is an eye in the head of a poet.

Quote by Orson Welles

So unless you live under a rock or are from some remote country where you have no idea what movies are, you most likely know that the Academy Awards are airing this Sunday. I for one, live for this day. I love awards shows. I will watch all four hours of them. I print off ballots. I make themed snacks. (Tea Sandwiches for King’s Speech anyone? How about some Southwest style popcorn for True Grit? Trail mix for 127 Hours? Oh yes. If I had the available resources, I would be making them) I love awards shows, but the Oscars are by far my favorite.

Maybe it’s the idea of getting all dressed up and seeing glamorous people walking the red carpet. I love watching the Red Carpet show before the show and seeing all the stars get out of their limos. The women all wear gorgeous gowns and the men look dapper in their tuxedos.

Or maybe it’s seeing some of my favorite movies receive the credit they deserve. It’s always disheartening when my favorites get snubbed, but in my heart I know they should have won.

Which is what brings me to the real reason for this post. Here are the noms that I think should win. This is not who I think will win. This is just who, if I were the sole judging committee, I would choose. I won’t do all the categories, since most of you probably don’t care, and I don’t know any of the contenders (Best film short documentary anyone? Yeah, you get my point).

Best Picture: King’s Speech: This movie was the best movie I have seen in a long time. It was witty, it was gripping, it made me want to cry and cheer all in the span of two hours. Cast was amazing. Cinematography was amazing.

Best Director: Tom Hooper, ‘The King’s Speech’: It makes sense that the best picture should also win in the Best Director category. After all, he is what helped create the movie.

Best Actor: Colin Firth, ‘The King’s Speech’: Okay, so I know I’m a little biased voting for my future husband for this category, but he was just SO GOOD. If you haven’t seen the movie yet, go see it. His performance will blow you away. He made stuttering look like a natural habit for him.

Best Actress: Michelle Williams, ‘Blue Valentine’: Haven’t actually seen the movie, but I’m a big fan of Dawson’s Creek.

Best Supporting Actor: Geoffrey Rush, ‘The King’s Speech’: Rush had some of the best lines in the movie, and added a level of comedy while still remaining professional and serious that most people could not pull off. Not to mention, he was married to Jennifer Ehle in the movie who played Elizabeth Bennet in Pride and Prejudice with Colin Firth. That really has nothing to do with why he should win, but it’s an interesting tidbit for Janeites like me.

Best Supporting Actress: Helena Bonham Carter, ‘The King’s Speech’: You wouldn’t think she would be able to play the Queen Mum with the poise and dignity she deserves, but Carter does, and she does it magnificently. And to be able to shoot King’s Speech on the weekends while she played Bellatrix Lestrange in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows is impressive. The two roles couldn’t be farther apart.

Best Animated Feature Film: ‘Toy Story 3’: I was five when the first Toy Story came out. I was nineteen when Toy Story 3 came out. I went to see it at midnight with some of my friends from college. We all sang “You’ve Got a Friend in Me” while waiting for the movie to start. The end of the movie made me cry (big surprise, I know) and I wanted to go home and play with all my toys again. I was lucky enough to grow up with the series, so the whole idea of growing up and moving on hits home with me. I feel bad for selling all my Beanie Babies now. They must think I hate them.

Best Foreign Film: Mexico – ‘Biutiful’: No idea what it’s about, but I know Javier Bardem is in it, and he is one fine specimen of a man.

Best Original Screenplay: ‘The King’s Speech”: Seriously, just go see the movie. You’ll see what I’m raving about.

Best Adapted Screenplay: ‘The Social Network’: Aaron Sorkin wrote it. He also write a little tv show called The West Wing. Maybe you’ve heard of it. It was a great show.

Best Art Direction: ‘Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part I’: I love Harry Potter. No other reason.

Best Costume Design: ‘The King’s Speech’: I love the fashions from the 30’s and 40’s. Plus Colin Firth looks so good in a suit. (I almost said another word instead of ‘so good,’ but I try to keep this blog family friendly)

Best Original Song: ‘I See the Light’ – ‘Tangled’: I love this movie. Next to Toy Story 3 it was my favorite animated movie of the year. And the scene with this song gives the Little Mermaid’s “Kiss the Girl” a run for its money.

Best Original Score: ‘Inception’ – Hans Zimmer: My friend Kate will kill me if I put anything other than Inception. It is a good score though, so you should listen to her. 😉

Best Visual Effects: Tie between Inception and Harry Potter 7: Inception was one trippy movie, partly because they could CHANGE THE SETTING WITH THEIR MINDS. That’s awesome. Harry Potter gets half a vote because, again, I love Harry Potter (Actually, I love Ron Weasley. But since the series is called Harry Potter and not Ron Weasley, I use the former name. That would be awesome though. What if someone wrote the books from his perspective? Yessssss).

So there are some of my picks. Maybe they match up to yours, maybe not. Either way, I’ll find out if my picks will become realities on Sunday at seven.

About blweathers

I want to write. About what, I'm not sure. We'll figure that out together.

One response »

  1. This blog certainly illustrates the contradiction of who you are right now. On the one hand (meaning in this case, in one paragraph), you are waxing on intellectually about the positive attributes and social ramifications of movies like The King’s Speech and The Social Network and, in the next, you are worried about your beanie babies. Not a girl, not yet an adult. I love this time for you and I hope that, in some way, you never completely lose the girlish wonderment that can still poke its head above the realities of your world. Love you baby girl!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

