RSS Feed

It is one of the blessings of old friends that you can afford to be stupid with them.

Posted on

Quote by: Ralph Waldo Emerson

So last night one of my friends and I went to the mall for some retail therapy. The week had been rough on us both, and we needed to get our minds off it and just relax for a while. We both had a great time trying on clothes (some were cute, other were absolutely ridiculous. There was one dress that resembled a pinata on the bottom that my friend tried on. We joked she could wear it to a frat party and drunk guys would start hitting her butt thinking candy would fall out).

In the end though, she ended up buying a Batman folder, and I bought Disney Princess’ Pretty Pretty Princess board game. We laughed as we left the store. The purchases so completely fitted our personalities. She loves superheroes and would much rather watch movies like The Dark Knight or Inception instead of a chick flick. Her normal dress is jeans and a t-shirt. There may be a black sweater involved if it’s chilly. I on the other hand, have grown up believing I was a princess destined for royalty. Chick flicks are my favorite genre of movie (my top three favorite movies are Pride and Prejudice, Love Actually, and Titanic just to give you an idea). My normal dress is usually just that: a dress, skirt or some other frilly thing (this winter has been so cruel, I have not been able to wear as many dresses as I wish. I despise the cold for that. I will live somewhere where I can wear dresses everyday if I wish once I graduate).

One would think then, that because we are so different that we would not be good friends. Quite the contrary; she is one of my dearest and closest friends. I think our differences is what makes us so close. She brings me back down to earth when I become overly dramatic or spacey. I try to help her branch out from her love of dark colors, even if it’s only in small steps. Somehow, we make it work. I only wish other people could learn to live with other’s differences and see them as endearing qualities, rather than something that keeps them apart. If everyone embraced differences, I think it would be a much more peaceful world. Sorry for the little “world peace” plug-in the end, but I think it’s true.

About blweathers

I want to write. About what, I'm not sure. We'll figure that out together.

2 responses »

  1. I just attended a class at the Art Institute yesterday, called Teaching Tolerance, based on the work of Jitish Kallat on the Grand Staircase at the museum (if anyone hasn’t seen it – you should!) and the most important thing that I brought away from it is that we need to COMPARE and not contrast. For as the art piece tells us, “..the different streams having their sources in different places all mingle their water in the sea…”
    So, compare, compare, COMPARE…we are all headed in the same direction!

    Reply
    • My old high school teacher Mr. D used to say, when talking to people from other religions/backgrounds/etc. that it’s like asking them what 2+2 is. They will answer four. Ask them to add three to it and they will say seven. Ask them to add five to it and they may say eleven. The last answer is wrong, but everything up to that point is right. Just because one thing doesn’t line up doesn’t mean other things don’t either. Many people have the same core beliefs, and it is the little aspects that make us different. We should focus on what we have in common instead of what separates us.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

