RSS Feed

Tree Climbing Fish vs. God Given Talent

During my procrastination in studying this evening, I was scrolling through Facebook, creeping on my friends, when I came across this quote:

Tree Climbing Fish. Let's just make that animal even scarier.

The quote really struck a chord with me, because lately I’ve been wondering what exactly my talents are, other than owning the world’s largest collection of headbands and being excellent at getting stressed. Because let’s face it, I have a lot of things I’m not very good at.

For instance,

  • I don’t know how to ride a bike.
  • I’m really not good at any sports.
  • I’m not very artistic.
  • I feel nauseated and grow faint at the thought of public speaking.
  • I am the least confrontational person I know and would rather avoid the person/situation entirely rather than deal with it.
  • I am the worst test taker ever. As soon as the test is set on my desk, my mind goes blank.
  • I am a complete drama queen and freak out over the littlest things.

But, if Einstein was right in his quote (and I’m pretty sure he was, since the guy was a genius), then maybe I’m just a fish trying to climb a tree. Or, for the sake of leaving fish out of it, I’m a cow trying to walk downstairs (which is completely true by the way. Cows can walk up stairs but they cannot walk down stairs). Maybe I’m failing at those things because I’m only focusing on what I can’t do. Maybe I should think of what I can do instead.

For example,

  • I can shimmy like nobody’s business.
  • I can write decent, albeit predictable stories.
  • I have really great, intimate conversations with a person.
  • I can crank out a research paper in my sleep.
  • I have a pretty good sense of style.
  • I am good a color coordinating things.
  • I am known to throw nice parties.
  • I am a decent cook.
  • According to my roommate, I make people feel welcome.
  • I try to find the pretty and good things in life.

So, even though I have a lot of things that I am not so good at, and in fact suck at, I have a lot of other things that I do well at (wow, that’s a lot of prepositions, forgive me, it’s late.). I know I get really down on myself sometimes, and I often wonder what on earth I’m going to do with my life after I graduate, but at least I’m studying something that I can excel in; I could be a math major and hating my life right now. God has given me certain talents, and I need to learn to use them, no matter how small or petty they may seem. He wouldn’t have given them to me if he didn’t want me to use them, right?

Just some food for thought before bed.

About blweathers

I want to write. About what, I'm not sure. We'll figure that out together.

4 responses »

  1. I completely agree with you …focus on what you have and NOTon what you don’t have (do)…you have so many great qualitys….God did not make any two of us the same…

    Reply
  2. I can attest to the shimmying…your only competition might be JLo! 🙂

    Reply
  3. Very interesting and this is true for me .

    Reply
  4. this was halarious, what was really epic was the subway comment because the exact same thing happend to me i had eaten subway and wanted the meatball but got the cold cut instead!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

